About the 2023 Judges

The judges for the Kendeka Prize for African Literature, 2023, are unveiled today. The chair of the panel is novelist Natasha Omokhodion-Kalulu, a Zambian based in Lusaka. Joining the panel, is Richard Ali, a lawyer, novelist and poet based in Abuja, Nigeria and Pasomi Mucha, a novelist and a teacher based in Nairobi, Kenya About […]

Press Release : Call for Submissions, 2023

Kendeka Prize for African Literature is accepting entries from 1st of February, 2023 to 15th May, 2023 for its’ 2023 edition. The entry is free. The Prize will be awarded for the best unpublished short story either in fiction or creative non-fiction. The first prize will be Kshs.100,000, while the 2nd and the 3rd Prize […]

Press Release : Winner 2022

The overall winner of the 2022 Kendeka Prize for African Literature announced today, 24th September, 2022 is Scholastica Moraa, (Kenya) for her short story titled ‘Chained’. In the same ceremony Adaoro Raji, (Nigeria) was announced the first runners up for her story ‘Star Boy’. Beverley Ann Abrahams, from Zimbabwe was the second Runners up for […]

2022 Kendeka Prize – Statement of the Judges

It has been a great honour for us to be chosen as the judging panel for the 2022 Kendeka Prize for African Literature. The Kendeka Prize espouses values that we individually and collectively cherish. While we are drawn from different parts of the continent, the common denominator among us is our love and commitment to […]

Kendeka Prize for Africa Literature: shortlisted Authors 2022

Biographies of the Shortlisted Authors-2022 Joe Nyirenda Short story; Until Mushrooms Sprout Country; Zambia Joe Nyirenda and is a 26 years old male Zambian living in Lusaka, Zambia. He is an avid reader and passionate writer. His short story, The Red Scarf was shortlisted for publication in a local anthology in 2020, titled Siter Wives […]

Press Release – Long List, 2022

The Long List for the 2022 Kendeka Prize for African Literature is announced today, Thursday, 1st September, 2022. The Kendeka Prize for Africa Literature is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short story either fiction or creative non-fiction. The first edition of the prize founded by Kenyan writer Andrew Maina was won by Botswana […]