Apply Now

2021 Call Out

Kendeka Prize for African Literature will be awarded to the best short story submitted. For the 2021 edition, the call out for submission was done on 1st of February and the window will close on 31st May 2021. We are expecting a minimum of 2000 entries. The entries will be read and analyzed. A long list of fifteen entries will be released in August while a short list of five, will be released some two weeks before the award ceremony.


  • Entrants must be born in, or are citizens of any African country.
  • One entry per writer.
  • Manuscripts should be of between 3000 and 5000 words.
  • All entries must be in English.
  • Entries should be attached in Microsoft Word or Rich Text format, with the title of the story as the file name.
  • The first page of the story should include the name of the author, the title of the story, country of origin and the number of words.
  • The entry must be typed in Times New Roman 12 point font with 1.5 line spacing.
  • Entries must be sent as attachments to an email.
  • The email to which the story is attached must include the legal name of the writer, telephone number, a short Bio, age, and country of residence.
  • Entrants agree that the prize organizers may publicize the fact that a story has been entered, long listed, or shortlisted for the prize.
  • An author of a long-listed story agrees to its inclusion in an anthology, and to work with the editors to get the story ready for publication.
  • Every author confirms that the submission is their original work, it has not been published anywhere else, and that it has not been long listed in any other prize.
  • Every author gives exclusive global print and digital rights to Solano Publications Ltd for the long-listed stories for publication in an anthology. The author retains the copyright.
  • The judges’ decision is final.

The Prize;

The best short story for the 2021 Prize shall be awarded of Kshs 100,000 while the 2nd and the 3rd placed shall be awarded Kshs 50,000 and 25,000 respectively. Two consolation prizes of Kshs 5000 shall be given to the remaining two short listees. 


In corroboration with Solano Publications Ltd, all the thirteen long listed short stories will be published as an anthology titled I Am Listening, 3rd Edition. I Am Listening is an annual anthology published by the same company.