Press Release : Winner 2022

The overall winner of the 2022 Kendeka Prize for African Literature announced today, 24th September, 2022 is Scholastica Moraa, (Kenya) for her short story titled ‘Chained’. In the same ceremony Adaoro Raji, (Nigeria) was announced the first runners up for her story ‘Star Boy’. Beverley Ann Abrahams, from Zimbabwe was the second Runners up for […]

2022 Kendeka Prize – Statement of the Judges

It has been a great honour for us to be chosen as the judging panel for the 2022 Kendeka Prize for African Literature. The Kendeka Prize espouses values that we individually and collectively cherish. While we are drawn from different parts of the continent, the common denominator among us is our love and commitment to […]

Kendeka Prize for Africa Literature: shortlisted Authors 2022

Biographies of the Shortlisted Authors-2022 Joe Nyirenda Short story; Until Mushrooms Sprout Country; Zambia Joe Nyirenda and is a 26 years old male Zambian living in Lusaka, Zambia. He is an avid reader and passionate writer. His short story, The Red Scarf was shortlisted for publication in a local anthology in 2020, titled Siter Wives […]

Press Release – Long List, 2022

The Long List for the 2022 Kendeka Prize for African Literature is announced today, Thursday, 1st September, 2022. The Kendeka Prize for Africa Literature is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short story either fiction or creative non-fiction. The first edition of the prize founded by Kenyan writer Andrew Maina was won by Botswana […]

Press Release – Judges 2022

Judge Siphiwo Mahala, Chair Siphiwo Mahala is an academic, short story writer, novelist and playwright. He is a graduate of the University of Fort Hare, holds a Masters degree in African Literature from Wits University, and a PhD. in English Literature from the University of South Africa. His debut novel, When a Man Cries, was […]

Press Release: Winners

The first three winners of the 2021 Kendeka Prize for African Literature are as follows; First Prize; Jenny Robson, Botswana, author of Water For Wine Second Prize; Fatima Okhousami, Nigeria, author of The Women of Atinga House Third Prize; Okpanachi Irene Ojochegbe, Nigeria, author of Au Pair The three stories on this inaugural list of […]

2021 Short listed; Authors Biographies

2021 Short listed; Kendeka Prize for African Literature 1.Water For Wine by Jenny Robson, Botswana The Women of Atinga House by Fatima Okhousami, Nigeria Au Pair by Okpanachi Irene Ojochegbe, Nigeria Authors Biographies Au Pair by Okpanachi Irene Ojochegbe, Nigeria Okpanachi Irene Ojochegbe is content writer and graduate of Ahmadu Bello University, with a […]